Matchadventure | Iced Green Tea Latte @ The Sugar Hill Cafe, Lidcombe

20151023_115713I treated my mum and aunt to some lunch the other day because I finally got a job. A casual retail one, that is. But still, a job! So I decided to treat them to The Sugar Hill Cafe!

I am impressed with the coffee, blueberry bagel and also the service I experienced at the store. I shall expand on those things later on in the post, but for now… my comments on the iced green tea latte.

It wasn’t an ice cream based ice latte. It was a latte with ice cubes in it. Or maybe I haven’t had many iced lattes in my life so I was under some wrong assumptions when ordering. But the lack of ice cream did not make it any less tasty. In fact, it was delicious! I loved the bitter matcha taste of the latte which was quite prominent! It had just the right amount of sweetness in it that didn’t make the bitterness so overpowering. The drink made me really happy. But I did get annoyed with how many ice cubes were in the mug because that meant less room for the drink.

20151023_115709The iced green tea latte was pretty pricey though. It was $6.50 but hey, much cheaper than the Boost Green Tea Mango Mantra I had the other day. As for everything else I ordered that day, I ordered a Blueberry Bagel which came with ricotta cheese and strawberries inside it.

Now, with the blueberry bagel, it’s not your average dodgy purple blueberry bagel where it’s been sitting in the cafe display for a couple of days waiting for someone to buy it. This bagel was brown and the blueberries still maintained it’s spherical shape within the dough. And just look at the brown, crunchy exterior! I admit it was a little difficult to cut through with knife and fork, so I had to eat it like a burger. Is that how bagels are meant to be eaten? I’ve no idea.

IMG-20151028-WA0000

My mum and aunt ordered lattes and I didn’t have a sip but they really enjoyed it. In fact, they’ve visited this cafe with their friends numerous times before and love to come back. The people serving us were really friendly. And I got a free biscuit because my mum hash-tagged #thesugarhillcafe on instagram. Yep. My mum has her own instagram and I don’t. LOL.

The cafe in general was really nice. Had a good ambience but there’s something about the chairs and tables that weren’t very comfortable to sit on. It was very wobbly so whenever I tried to cut into my bagel, the table would shake and spill my beverage everywhere.

Overall, would definitely recommend this place.

~Nurilen

The Sugar Hill Cafe Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

